Wu-Tang with a side of Tacos

When you typically start the week, Wednesday isn’t really a highlight nor does any good story begin with, “Last Wednesday, things got lit!” or “I can’t wait for Wednesday, because I can really throw it back!”.  However, last Wednesday was pretty bumpin’ with Wu-Tang Wednesday at Dos Santos.  The former Southside Johnny’s location has really been turning up the music and bringing the foodies over to that corner of town since last October.  This less than stellar middle-of-the week feeling transformed when you walk through the door.  Dos Santos is a quaint establishment with a bustling vibe of tables turning and a roar of ’90s R&B.  I walked in and an old classic of mine really got me moving, “Honey” song by Mariah Carey – remember her on the jet ski and Mase with backing vocals? It was my jam! Excitement set aside these tacos were cool, fresh, and stunning.

Ahi Tuna
Ahi Tuna Taco

While I can rave and rave about their tacos, I have to scream a bit about their…brussel sprouts.  I know. I know. Eh. Meh. What? But, trust me if this special is on the menu, order it!  They were the spiciest most flavorful plate of creamy, peppered, cotija sprinkled sprouts I’ve ever had.  My table of eight sighed when I told them I ordered the brussel sprouts.  But, guess what? Who wanted a 2nd and 3rd sample of it, everyone? Take a chance, you won’t regret it.  Their Wu-Tang special was a chili-crusted Mahi taco, the subtle mildness of the Mahi enhanced the habanero aioli sauce which was dynamite.

brussel sprouts
Spicy Brussel Sprouts
moretacos
Steak Tacos

I was really impressed by the simplicity of the dishes.  It felt like an authentic food truck set up shop on a beach and everyone was invited.  Take a moment to check them out and maybe raise those hands for some great music and ambiance.  P.s. Check out their dessert menu too.  Jheesshhh…The flan was too much.

flan
Flan

Leave a comment